Examples of Depression

“There are wounds that never show on the body that are deeper and more hurtful than anything that bleeds.” ― Laurell K. Hamilton

–EXEMPLIFICATION–

          According to a study, there are many examples of depression based on the emotions or feelings or behavior of a person. Most probably they may have issues in eating and sleeping, trouble concentrating and feelings of hopelessness and worthlessness. People experiencing these issues may have thoughts of death and suicide and may suffer from depression.

  • Hopelessness and Worthlessness

          Depressed people struggle with hopelessness and worthlessness when they are applying for a job or doing oral tasks in school. Before doing those tasks, they may have thoughts of failing the challenge and will end up getting nervous and anxious.

                For example, the moment when i did my impromptu speech, i know that i will fail to deliver it effortlessly and properly. After that, i was still worrying about my performance.

  • Difficult to Concentrate

          Depression disables our positive thinking which may result to low performance in work and school. When we are sad, we won’t be able to accomplish tasks given to us.

          For instance, last March, many projects were given to us which are by group. I was sick for 2 weeks straight and I stand as the leader of my groups (different subjects). Since no one was volunteering to lead us, I have no choice but handle them and go to school everyday. The stress is only directed to me and I was thinking that I’m the only one showing effort on the tasks. That time, I felt angry and sad at the same time because I alone showed concern and volunteered to do all the work. Even though, I know that even without them I can work on things fast without cramming things. Going back, It was difficult to concentrate when you are stressed depressed and sick all at once.

Leave a Reply

